Week 9

This week was one of the craziest and busiest weeks I have seen at MoCA yet. With Building 6 opening on May 28th and the CAKE performance that same night, everyone was in a frenzy to make sure the weekend went off without a hitch, Personally, I spent the first part of the week learning the ticketing program and actually putting it into practice. I found time after customer service training and was even given an exclusively selling shift in order to get familiar with the program and learn how to talk to patrons and sell them their tickets. This definitely helped for Sunday when I would be in the box office selling CAKE and museum tickets on that incredibly busy day. There were obviously things I did not know how to do but everyone I asked for help from was always extremely calm and helpful and patient with me despite how crazy everything was.

I also started my tour guide/info desk training this week. I got a complete route tour of the museum in order to see how the brochures should be delivered to each exhibit. I was also given a handout with a basic list of responsibilities and tasks required for an info desk shift. Because of another task I was given this week, I was already relatively familiar with the basement where the brochures were kept.

Earlier in the week, I was sent to count the brochures for each artist and file them on the shelves neatly. I also had to consolidate the brochures behind the info desk and archive some to make room for new brochures at the desk as well as the new system being implemented for patrons to find information on the artists.

MoCA now has an app that includes a map, information, art history, and history of MoCA specifically. I was lucky enough to be able to test drive the app and report back any glitches or possible improvements. Because of that experience, when explaining to patrons how to use the app, I have first hand knowledge and will be able to speak more intelligently on it.

Leave a Reply

